There are two courses:

  1. SA Specialist: Essentials
  2. SA Specialist: Experiences

SA Specialist: Essentials

The SA Specialist: Essentials course offers 13 modules (don’t worry, you don’t have to do them all). You are required to complete four compulsory pre-assigned modules, as well as three elective modules that you will choose from nine provincial modules. That makes a total of seven modules that you need to complete (you are, however, welcome to do more of the provincial modules to increase your knowledge of South Africa, should you wish).

In addition, you will have to take a final assessment.

Read through the relevant module content, familiarising yourself with both the text and any images and video. Once you have studied a module to your satisfaction, you will need to take a test specific to that module, in which you will need to score 80% or more to pass the 10-question multiple-choice test.

Once all the relevant modules are done, complete the final assessment, consisting of 40 questions. Again, you will need to score 80% or more to pass.

You have 90 days in which to complete the Essentials course. The whole course does not have to be completed at once. You can study in your own time, when it suits you ... as long as it's completed within the three months.

On successful completion of the course, you will be able to access your SA Specialist certificate and a press release detailing that you have successfully completed the course.

SA Specialist: Experiences

Once you’ve become an SA Specialist by completing the Essentials course, you qualify for the video-rich SA Specialist: Experiences course, which exposes you to a series of fantastic South African experiences.

There are seven categories of experiences to choose from. You can choose to complete only one of them, all seven, or any number in between – it’s entirely up to you. However, we recommend completing all of them – the more you know, the better you can sell the country. There’s no time limit on this one.

At the end of each category there is a 20-question multiple-choice test. You need at least 80% to pass, after which you will be able to access an SA Specialist: Experiences certificate relevant to that experience.

Good luck and enjoy it!

Note: the SA Specialist programme must be completed before starting the SA Specialist: Experiences programme